Hairy Maggot Blowfly

What a terrible name even if it is true. They are actually reasonably attractive flies.
DSC_8870acr107
In trying to identify it, I discovered that you can tell the gender by the eye position. Today’s fund fact: The males eyes meet on top of the head while the females are seperated.
DSC_8889acr107 DSC_8894acr107h

About birds n' bugs

Retired, living in SW Florida and spending my time at nature photography in my local area. I volunteer with a couple of local organizations to help my adopted home town. Travelling is now by airplane and car instead of a sailboat but happy anyway.
This entry was posted in Bug and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hairy Maggot Blowfly

  1. chatou11 says:

    Great macros, I like her colours very much.

Leave a comment